Lucky Her

July 16, 2011

That’s always been my mentality.  I look at girls and think, lucky her, she’s naturally thin.  Oh how I wish I was petite.  Man to have her hair.  And the list goes on and on.  Then it struck me this week.  For the first time ever I realized it’s totally my choice what size I am.  I am the only person who can control what I eat, when I exercise, etc.  I always assumed that you were either meant to be thin, or meant to not be.  I know I’m not really that big, so I don’t want you to think I have a totally warped self image, but I did get a little out of control with my eating and I have finally started to reign it in again.  I also looked into some people’s diets that I deem thin and honestly if I ate what they ate and worked out as much as them I’d be their size too!  The other thing I realized is most likely people look at me and think lucky her.  It’s a vicious cycle for women (and men too) that we look at other people and think their lives are so much better than ours.  For me it’s people’s size, their wardrobe, their home decor, and their hair and make-up.  Yeah I’m that superficial sometimes.  For men I think it’s more other people’s jobs, their cars, and maybe their house. I’m working on changing it from Lucky Her to Lucky ME!

Leave a comment