Convinced

May 31, 2013

I am now convinced that God made babies more snugly when they have fevers so that parents will find a small bit of joy during a less than joyful time. Our Ellery Wynn has officially had her first fever or perhaps still has. Last night she woke up every 45 minutes and would scream out, but then go right back to sleep, at 3 AM I decided to give her some Tylenol assuming she was in pain because those pesky teeth are still trying to break through. I go downstairs, get the medicine, go over to her crib and as soon as she can sense me she goes hysterical and this mama’s heart began to feel a little guilty that I hadn’t gone in sooner. I picked her up and she felt like she was on fire. Turns out her temperature was just slightly over 100, but she was radiating heat and I felt terrible for her. I brought her in our room and woke up Andrew, then while we waited for the medicine to kick in she played in our bed. Thank goodness she played because then I felt way better, she was laughing and chatting and then I knew she wasn’t doing too bad. I looked at Andrew and asked the question I already knew the answer to, “can’t she just sleep with us for the rest of the night?” Of course the answer was, “no.” But hey, I tried. She went back to sleep in her crib and then I lay wide awake wondering if she was ok, I fell asleep finally around 4:45 and she of course woke up screaming at 5:00. We were up for the day at 6:30 and spent the day snuggling, watching Netflix leap frog, reading books in bed, and napping as much as possible. Poor little nugget had a fever most of the day and seemed to kick it a little bit before bedtime. As much as everyone says to enjoy the phase where they don’t talk I think it’ll be better when she can tell me what’s wrong. According to the Internet doctors say that babies don’t get fevers when they are teething? Really? Every kid I know has had fevers associated with teething.

One Response to “Convinced”

  1. Erica Van Brakle said

    They are the same way when their tummies hurt too! My little one got the stomach bug (which I do not recommend – ugh!) and he laid on the couch and snuggled with me for the better part of two days – momma bliss (as odd as it is to say) since he’s a now very active toddler. It was nice to have my big snuggle bug back for awhile!

Leave a Reply

