Grandparents

February 13, 2013

Continuing my relationship week in honor of Valentine’s day. Today I want to highlight grandparents. Andrew is very fortunate to have all 4 of his grandparents still alive and well. My dad’s parents passed away in 2005 and my other grandparents are sadly in poor health. We hope to spend time with them when we move closer. My grandfather is still mentally very with it and I’m sure he would love to get to know my mister. My grandmother sadly is mentally not well, it’s like Alzheimer’s, but it’s not. I wish Andrew had gotten to know her like I remember her. I told him the other night that I always thought of her as the quintessential grandmother. She cooked great home style farm meals, baked better than anyone, sewed my dolls clothes, played the piano with me, and was just awesome.

Ellery is so lucky to have the grandparents she has. I was thinking about how funny it is that when grandparents babysit they want you to go out during the day so they can spend time with them and everyone else hopes your kid goes to bed within the first hour. It’s very interesting to become a child that bears a grandchild, you become chop liver!! Your conversations suddenly revolve around what your kiddo is doing and you don’t matter so much. That’s alright, this is yet another thing I will understand someday if I get to become a grandparent. My mom frequently says it’s weird that her daughter has a daughter, I think about this often when I’m feeding Ellery that someday she may do the same for her child.

I hope that with technology and travel Ellery can grow up knowing her grandparents and she will always feel connected to them. My M-I-L got an iPad for Christmas and we love to FaceTime on Friday mornings when all the great grandparents are over for coffee. Before we know it she’ll be talking back to them!

I found this quote kind of funny: “The best baby-sitters, of course, are the baby’s grandparents. You feel completely comfortable entrusting your baby to them for long periods, which is why most grandparents flee to Florida.” – Dave Barry

20130212-200526.jpg

Leave a Reply

