Video Monitor

February 8, 2013

I am so thankful we got a video baby monitor. While Ellery does sleep through the night most nights. She does wake up around 5:00 some mornings and lets out a scream or two. Literally one scream or two. I look at the monitor to make sure she isn’t wedged, roll over and go right back to sleep. I also miss her a lot in the evenings, when we gave up the twilight feed at 6 months old I started not seeing her for 12 straight hours and every evening I stare at her in the monitor before bed. She has a crazy good sense of if we go peek at her. We can make absolutely no noise and when we peer over the bed her eyes pop open, so I daily appreciate seeing her on the screen.

All that said, I would never recommend our monitor. I picked it because it had all the features I wanted. Video, temperature, talk back feature and small portable screen. Ellen gave it away for her Mother’s Day give away so I just assumed it was a quality monitor. Not exactly. It was great for the first month and then it started getting glitchy. I’ve had to sleep in the guest room on several occasions because it absolutely will not link. The screen is extremely bright. On the lowest setting it still lights up our room and the volume is too quiet to pick up newborn cries. On the loudest setting it was still so quiet, now it’s not an issue, but the first two months it was. I’m not complaining, I’m so thankful for the monitor, I just know a lot of soon to be mamas and I wanted to warn you to get a different one.

20130208-093423.jpg

2 Responses to “Video Monitor”

  1. Jill said

    We have this summer brand video monitor that we love, in case you are wanting a new one…this one: http://www.diapers.com/p/summer-infant-babytouch-color-video-monitor-95804?site=CA&utm_source=Google&utm_medium=cpc_D&utm_term=PJ-388&utm_campaign=GooglePLA&CAWELAID=1338716022&utm_content=pla&ca_sku=PJ-388&ca_gpa=pla&ca_kw=%7Bkeyword%7D#

    Never had any problems wth it, except when it’s running off of batteries, you’d better have about 5,000 of them on hand, because they run out very quickly.

    • campbell2008 said

      Thanks Jill! We are going to deal with ours, but I know other people are wondering, or maybe we’ll splurge and get another one when we have our second.

Leave a Reply

