5 Month Letter

December 21, 2012

To My Little Girl Ellery Wynn,

You are growing up so quickly, every mother says it, but it really is the truth! People have said time and again this month that suddenly you look like a little girl and not a baby anymore. I have made a decision, it was a tough one, but I’ve decided. I’m going to let you grow up. It’s almost painful to say it, but it’s important that you know I don’t want to hold you back. You’ve been giving me glimpses of getting older. You’ve started holding onto me very tightly before I lay you down for a nap, it’s as if you are saying, “please mom, just one more minute.” I always oblige, I know that someday, all too soon, you will ask if maybe just this once I didn’t have to hug you in front of everyone. It will hurt my heart no doubt, but I know it’s part of growing up so I’ll let it slide. On the other side of the coin I hope to be able to shield your innocence as long as possible. I hope I can let you be a kid for as long as you like because I promise being grown up isn’t as glamorous as it looks when you’re little. I have no idea how to master this delicate dance, but I will try as hard as I can to learn so I don’t step on your toes. I love you so incredibly much and I have thoroughly enjoyed these last 5 months being your mom. You are simply the best!

Love you forever,
Mama

20121221-074728.jpg

Leave a Reply

