1 Down

November 20, 2012

51 to go. That’s what I said when I finished my first week of nursing. I hated breast feeding in the beginning. The thought of sticking it out for an entire year made me sick. Now I’m dreading dropping the twilight feeding because I love it so much and I will likely be a one of “those people” that cry when we give this whole thing up. So I have a long list of tips and encouragement that I compiled over the first 3 months and would love to share it with anyone who is interested. I decided not to post it on here because I do have some male readers and I know it doesn’t pertain to most of you. If you’d like my nursing notes just shoot me an e-mail. Lauracampbell2008@gmail.com

[update] my notes aren’t about scheduling or baby wise. They are more about actual nursing and how you feel and when things get better, etc.

5 Responses to “1 Down”

  1. JB said

    No need to give up the twilight feeding if you don’t want to. I know your doctor told you that after 3 months you needed to drop it, but I just don’t think that’s sound medical advice. Babies get a lot of nutrition from night time feeding…(also, night time feeding helps keep your fertility away). If you don’t have a problem with it, then keep it. I especially recommend this since from what I gather, you’re doing Babywise. The AAP recommends against schedule feeding because it can lead to dehydration, malnourishment, and failure to thrive diagnosis. If you’re schedule feeding (especially 4 hours apart like BW recommends after a certain age…which is crazy to me), I definitely suggest keeping the twilight feeding for as long as possible

    Also, you can nurse well beyond a year…the World Health Organization recommends a minimum of 2 years šŸ™‚

    • campbell2008 said

      Thanks JB. Yeah the 4 hour schedule that baby wise speaks of doesn’t work for us so we are sticking to the three hour schedule for now. My doctor hasn’t said anything about the twilight feed yet, I’m just figuring maybe she’ll say to drop it at this next appointment. We did drop the 4:30AM feeding as she recommended and that’s been AMAZING! I don’t know how I functioned so well when I was getting up in the night, but I’m definitely a huge fan of sleeping.

  2. JB said

    Ooops sorry, I must have have confused the twilight feeding with the 4:30am feeding which I remember your doc telling you to drop…I still find it weird that she told you you needed to drop it at such a young age (the way I see it, babies don’t need less milk the bigger they grow…at least not until they’re eating a lot of solids), but I’m glad it’s working for you šŸ™‚ To clarify, I don’t think baby’s NEED to nurse at night if they’re clearly capable of going without (which it sounds like Ellery is), I just have an issue with a medical professional saying they SHOULDN’t nurse at night…especially when they’re still just a few months old. We still do a middle of the night feeding and I’ve grown quite fond of them…just me and my baby (it helps that I’m back in bed after only 20 minutes)….though I sure do miss getting a full night sleep….it’s been a looong time since I’ve slept a straight night through (not since my early preggo days).

    Anyway, good for you for listening to your baby and not Babywise as far as the 4 hour schedule goes šŸ™‚ Question…since you’re doing schedule feeding, how do you accommodate for growth spurts where your baby needs more milk which is only produced by more frequent nursings?

    Also, sorry if my previous comment sounded harsh or judgmental. I obviously have strong feelings about nursing, but that doesn’t mean I can’t be gracious about it….my apologies :/

    • campbell2008 said

      I totally understand that you were just being passionate. I feel strongly about mama stuff too! I think baby wise gets a bad reputation because people only see snippets of the “program.” The book explains all about growth spurts and that you never let your baby be upset more than 15 minutes. There is a whole section on the 45 minute intruder which “typically” signals a growth spurt so you feed them off schedule as needed for a few days until your milk catches up. Baby wise is kind of schedule feeding, but it’s more listening to your babies cues, but trying to get them on some sort of schedule. For us it has worked beautifully, but I definitely don’t think it’s for everyone. There is definite wiggle room though, you feed within a window of time, not a set time. The book specifically talks about the negative affects of hyper scheduling/ watching the clock. Nursing has been super important to me since the beginning and so far my supply has been great.

  3. JB said

    Thanks for shedding some light on a positive BW experience…for us it definitely would not have worked because 15 minutes of upsetness for our baby would have been hysterics/hyperventilation (exaggerating, but you get the point). I’m glad it works for you and that nursing is going well. I think I’m initially anti-Babywise because I know some people who adhere to it so strongly that they just let their babies cry and cry for the sake of a schedule…and also their babies had lots of issues gaining weight yet they refused to feed more frequently.

Leave a Reply

