Pen to Paper

November 16, 2012

If I were someone who put pen to paper my diary entries for this week would look something like this.

November 12, 2012
Dear Diary,
Traveling in the car with a 3 month old is not for the faint of heart. This mama was near tears several times. She did great for the first few hours and then like all of us she was tired of being in the car. The screaming began and despite our best efforts to entertain her she screamed herself hoarse. I am dreading the drive tomorrow, 10 hours just might feel like eternity.

November 13, 2012
Dear Diary,
Today was so much better, can’t even believe I’m able to write this, but Elle only cried for about 20 minutes total in the 10 hours on the road. Our success was due to her latest discovery, her thumb! Anytime she would start to fuss she would find that thumb and suck herself calm. I dread the day I have to break this, I tried without success to get her to enjoy a pacifier, oh well, there are worse things. We went straight to the Houks tonight and enjoyed dinner and catching up. Nights like these make me ache to move back. Living far is terrible.

November 14, 2012
Dear Diary,
People who want to grow up are foolish. Wishing I could be a kid again, and still be married and have Ellery. Yeah I know, not possible. Had a fun day with mom, Elle, Steph, and the boys.

November 15, 2012
Dear Diary,
Hung out with an old friend today that I haven’t seen in years. It was so nice to catch up and I’m looking forward to keeping in touch with her as we are both in the new mama phase. We spent the evening with one of our favorite couples and of course hated to end the night. Teleportation would be a great invention!

November 16, 2012
Dear Diary,
I thought I was going to see someone die today. We were eating lunch at Penn Station on campus when a woman at the table next to us started screaming, ” help, someone do the heimlich, call 911.” My dad stood up and I looked at him and yelled, “dad help.” He has actually successfully saved someone before so I knew he could do it. He went to save her and realized she was having a seizure, not choking. She ended up being fine, but it was freaky and it was happening about a foot from us. We took Ellery to my Dad’s office and she was a hit! I’m getting my haircut and have a wedding tomorrow, I’m looking forward to both!

Thoroughly enjoying our laid back vacation!!

Leave a Reply

