One Month Letter

August 21, 2012

I am going to attempt to write a letter to our Elle every month and capture the milestones of the month and how we are feeling.  We’ll see if I can keep it up.  I’m not a scrapbooker, blogging suits me better, so this is my way of telling our daughter what life is like at the present moment.

To my dearest Ellery Wynn,

People aren’t lying when they tell you a baby changes everything.  You, my sweet girl, changed everything for me.  You made me a mom, something I’ve wanted as long as I can remember.  I know we will have our ups and downs and when I look at you now I wish I could pause time and live in this moment for longer.  You are perfectly innocent, when you cry it’s because you actually need something, you are either hungry, need a diaper change, or are overly tired.  Soon your cries will signal a lot of other things and I’ll have to choose when to give into your demands.  For now I just get to love on you and answer the cries.  I’m so glad we had a plan from the start for your sleeping.  I can lay you down in your bassinet and most of the time you can put yourself to sleep.  Sometimes you lay there for 30 or 40 minutes and just look around before drifting off to dreamland.  Believe me when I tell you that I want to hold you all day long and stare at you and enjoy these moments, but I also know I’m a much happier mama when I get sleep and by doing this method of sleep training this early I am actually getting a lot of sleep and I’m enjoying my time with you.  You are the loudest sleeping baby I’ve ever heard.  You grunt and scream in your sleep.  It sounds as though you are getting ready to wake up any minute, but will be fast asleep, this has taken some getting used to and you will be moving to your bedroom sooner than we planned because the grunting and screaming wakes us up more than we would like.  It’s almost as if you knew today was a big day because you slept almost a five hour stretch last night and woke up at our established wake time today, I can’t thank you enough!  You are an eater.  A very efficient eater.  You never want to eat for more than 15 minutes and after giving you your first bottle at 3 weeks we found out you eat over 4 ounces in a feeding, no wonder you have gained so much weight so quickly.  I thought I would not enjoy nursing very much, but the night you got your first bottle I was so sad that I wasn’t feeding you.  You, my little love, are a daddy’s girl.  You burp the best for him, snuggle him, give him the sweetest smiles, and let him hold you in positions that make you scream with everyone else.  Let me tell you he is crazy in love with you.  He is all about kissing your sweet cheeks.  I tease him that I now have to compete for the number one love spot in his life now that he has two girls.  Don’t be mistaken though, he will always love me more because that’s how it should be.  You have the sweetest giggles, of course you won’t perform on video, but you’ve been giggling almost since you first got home, it’s as if you are living up to your name already, my cheerful friend.  I love being at home with you, we don’t leave the house when it’s just the two of us, I can’t carry your carrier so we wait for daddy to go out.  I am so content to just be here with you reading books, singing songs, playing on the floor, feeding you, taking naps, it is simply the best.  One month ago you came into our lives and we will never be the same, so glad you are here!

Love you always,

Mama

Leave a Reply

