Townies

June 4, 2012

The term townie always had such a negative connotation. In high school people always talked about graduating, going to college and then getting the heck out of town. I’d love to know the percentage that came back, I’m guessing it’s pretty high. I love my hometown, Andrew loves my hometown and if circumstances were different we would live there and I would proudly be a townie. Everything is 10 minutes away. The pace of life is so much slower than living in a city. The speed limit is 35!! I haven’t really experienced that in awhile and it felt strange. The University brings so much to the town, and it’s a small enough place that you actually know what’s going on. It has Seven Saints and Papa Dels!! Oh and Art Mart chocolate chunk cookies, oh my, if you haven’t had one, you need to go get one or two, heck buy a dozen, you won’t regret it.

The people are nice, genuinely nice, and they would do anything for you in a moments notice. At my shower on Saturday I looked around and was overwhelmed thinking about how these women shaped me into who I am today and how they still live in my hometown and I would be surrounded by their love and support if we still lived there. As we enter this new phase of life I’d love to be close to the wisdom of these women who have raised children already.

I have to remind myself that CU is not utopia. They have tornadoes and winter. They don’t have a hula hut or Moonies. There isn’t a life there for us really anymore, but it would be so nice to live 10 minutes from family and friends that I’ve known a lifetime and for Elle to experience that kind of love and community. Andrew is optimistic that Austin can be that place for us, I can see it, it’s starting to happen, it’s just going to take time. I had a fantastic trip , we’re already planning our next visit, only it’ll be different because we’ll be a family of 3!!

2 Responses to “Townies”

  1. lizschmidt said

    Hey Laura, this is Liz Schmidt. I found your blog through Emily Pool’s blog. I know Andrew from when I worked at the School of Chemical Sciences. Your post really resonated with me. I miss CU a lot since we moved to Austin a few months ago. I too have to remind myself that CU is not utopia and there is not a life for us there as well. It’s hard because I have really been wanting to go “home” lately – CU is home, even though I grew up near Chicago. I would love to live closer to family and not have to deal with these crazy Texas highways. I am still trying to figure out how I feel about Austin. Anyways, just wanted to let you know you are not alone in your thoughts about CU.

    • campbell2008 said

      Hi Liz! We have been in Austin 18 months and it FINALLY is starting to feel like home. Everyone acts like if you move to Texas it will be like moving to the south where everyone is so friendly and hospitable. Austin is not the south 🙂 Andrew mentioned getting together, let’s make it happen soon, I’d love to meet you and your husband!

Leave a Reply

