How Does it Come Out?

March 10, 2012

The other day I was babysitting my 4 and 2 year old and I made one little mistake.  I told them that in a couple weeks we were going to find out if our baby was a boy or a girl.  Then they looked at me kind of funny and I realized they probably thought I meant I was going to have a baby in a couple weeks.  I then explained that I wouldn’t be having the baby, the doctor was just going to be telling me if it was a boy or a girl, then the conversation went something like this.  We’ll call the 4 year old J.

J: Well how will they know if it’s a boy or a girl if you aren’t going to have the baby?

Me: Well they use a tool that can see inside my belly.

J:  But babies don’t have hair yet so how can they tell if it’s a boy or a girl?

Me: Umm, well, let’s see uh do you think boys and girls are made the same way, that we have ALL the same parts? (J has a puzzled look on his face at this point) Ok how about this, let’s get the book Amazing You and we’ll talk about it.  I proceed to explain in the technical terms what different parts girls and boys have and tell him the doctor will be able to see the different parts.

Ok well unfortunately when we got this book out he asked if I would read the WHOLE book.  I didn’t realize this, but mom skips over some of the parts and he really wants to know all the stuff in the book.

We get to the part about how babies are made and I’m hoping he doesn’t ask me any questions about this.  I have no real problem talking about it, but I refuse to talk to kids about it when I am not their parent!

We get to the part about when babies come out and then here it comes…

J: So how does the baby come out?

Me: Well you see that hole down there? It gets REALLY big for just one day and the baby comes out and then the hole gets small again.

J: (wide eyed) OH

And then I tried to change the subject quickly and move on.

Later I told the mom and dad about this conversation and they just laughed about it.  I’m sure I really shocked him because up until that day he had been told that the doctor takes the baby out!  This got me thinking…OH MY WORD THIS CHILD HAS TO COME OUT!!!

Leave a Reply

