Bet You Didn’t Know

January 23, 2012

Andrew got a funny book for Christmas from my mom.  It’s called The Essential Book of Useless Information by Don Voorhees.  I’ve been reading a couple pages a day and I’ve learned some fun facts about everything from squirrels to psychiatric conditions.  I thought I’d share a few with you!

Squirrels teeth grow continuously and they gnaw to wear them down.

The first remote control was made by Zenith in 1950 and called Lazy Bones.  It was attached to the T.V. with a wire.

Fred and Ethel Mertz from I Love Lucy despised each other in real life.

Captain Kirk never said, “Beam me up, Scotty,” in any episode of Star Trek.

The real life Soup Nazi of Seinfeld fame was so mad at Jerry Seinfeld that he refused to accept Jerry’s heartfelt apology.

Jennifer Aniston’s birth name is Jennifer Joanna Anastassakis.

AND MY FAVORITE, I actually laughed out loud when visualizing this last one:  During the opening scene of The Sound of Music, with Julie on top of the mountain, she kept getting thrown to the ground by the helicopter’s downdraft.

If you love fun facts this is a great book, who know perhaps this will help me win future games of trivial pursuit!

 

Leave a Reply

