Resolve

January 4, 2012

I didn’t make any resolutions this year. Well not really, I’ll explain in a minute. If you’ve been following me for at least a year you know that I typically make a list of about 5 things and try all year to
uphold them. Not this year. As you can see from my post yesterday we have enough stuff going on in our lives to work through that I really don’t need to add anything. I did realize though this holiday season that I don’t appreciate the man that is my husband nearly enough. I really appreciate him on a daily basis like I appreciate that he works hard to support us, helps with the housekeeping, does all the yard work, cleans the bathrooms and makes the bed when I don’t get around to it.

I’ve realized I don’t really appreciate who he is as a person. There are so many things about him that I just don’t know. I know VERY LITTLE about his childhood, high school years, college experiences, friends, likes, dislikes, passions, fears. Part of this is because he’s not ready to share all of this, part of it is because I’m not asking the right questions.

Everyone tells you to marry your best friend, I didn’t and I’m pretty confident he would say the same about me. We married a person we hardly knew, i know that sounds weird, but it’s true. We knew each other less than a year when we wed, that’s crazy, truly.

Now over three years into this whole thing I can say with absolute truth that I am married to my best friend, I wouldn’t change a thing about how it all came together, it’s our story and while I wouldn’t recommend it, I wouldn’t want it any other way. This year I am going to get to know the love of my life better, I’m going to talk less and listen more and somehow I’m going to ask the right questions.

It’s January 4th, how are you all doing on your commitments for 2012?

One Response to “Resolve”

  1. Cindy Campbell said

    Laura, Campbell men especially, and most men in general, arent good at giving you much information about their life. You have to pull it out of them. I have known his Dad almost my entire life and still dont know alot. He says he doesn’t remember his childhood. We women find that hard to believe, because we can go back to our childhood and bring back so many memories. I can help put a picture story together with my memories for you and hopefully that will trigger him to fill in the gaps of what he was feeling at the time so you can know him better. What’s hard is that you live far away from us and dont hear the day to day reflections of past years. When he was home last June, we sat on the porch talking , all of us, and the boys were sharing funny memories of growing up, some I hadn’t even heard before. Those are times that you unfortunately miss and would enjoy. He sure was a cute kid though. Always way ahead of his age. I always kept telling him “childhood is short, enjoy being a kid, you’ll be an adult for a long time”.

Leave a Reply

