Mind Blowing

September 21, 2011

So today at work I read over 200 pages of the book Skinny B!%@&: Bun in the Oven (how many people can say they can read a book at work?).  I don’t have a bun in the oven, but people are offering to let me borrow books so I take them up on it.  As I’ve been reading books about pregnancy I realize you need to start a lot of what they are telling you to do before you get pregnant so why not start implementing some of this stuff before you make a bun?  This book has completely overwhelmed my mind.  I don’t think there is any possible way I could actually do the vegan diet that they very blatantly tell you is the only healthy way to live.  Basically the book is a series of graphic accounts of animal slaughter and explaining how the government is corrupt and that’s why we eat what we eat.  I’m not saying that what they are saying is incorrect, it actually makes a lot of sense, but I’m just not willing to give up a juicy burger now and then and eat Kale and tofu instead.  I also just plain don’t have the resources to double my grocery budget which is what I’d have to do to make this crazy lifestyle switch.  So bottomline, unless you are prepared to make HUGE changes in your life when you are pregnant (or not pregnant) don’t open this book.  It will completely gross you out to all animal products.  I was ignorant enough to not know that this was a book with a complete vegan platform before I started reading it.  If you are someone who would like to make the switch to being Vegan and need a swift kick in the booty then this is a great read or read the original.  I will confess I’m only 50 pages from the end so I will finish reading it because I can’t stand when people don’t finish books…I live with one of those people.  Besides doing all the things I’ve already started doing i.e. no caffeine, no artificial sweeteners, eating organic, etc.  I can’t say this book is going to change me… I’m a soap-boxer and this is not a box I want to stand on.

No offense to all of you who are vegan out there I APPLAUD YOU!  I’m sure you are much healthier than me and I wish I had the self control to become one!

One Response to “Mind Blowing”

  1. Ellen said

    I haven’t read the book, but it is hard enough to get the right amount of healthy calories when you are pregnant or nursing, especially protein. I can’t imagine trying to do that vegan. You would have to be in the kitchen cooking and eating all day!

Leave a Reply

