Surviving the hottest “winter”

September 6, 2011

This has been the hottest summer in Austin since the 1920’s and we may have actually beaten that record.  I tried to look it up, but was unsuccessful, I think we had somewhere around 80 consecutive days of triple digits.  As everyone around the country talked about the sadness of the end of summer and start of school I just couldn’t relate.  Everyone here has been anxiously awaiting the end of “summer.”  After living through one of the hottest, driest summers on record Andrew and I have come to one conclusion.  May-August is our winter.  It’s when mostly everyone holes up in their homes.  Kids don’t really play outside for fear of heatstroke.  No one really gets together to do much because it’s too miserable to be outside.  Pretty much everything is dead due to the drought and Andrew and I have barely made it outside to take a walk because after the sun sets the temperature is still hovering around 100 degrees.  I’ve been craving an evening where I could open the windows and air out the house, but when we are turning in for the night it’s still 90 degrees and I don’t want that hot air in my house.  Basically we all have a little cabin fever!  Yesterday was the start of fall here in Austin with a high of 89 and it was sheer bliss.  We ate breakfast outside, drove around with the windows down and sunroof open, Andrew sat outside and read in the afternoon and I opened the windows and turned the fans on before bed and this morning before work.  I of course waited until the temperatures dropped below 80 to do so.  This morning when I woke up it was 65 outside.  Fall is here, but if feels more like spring, at least attitude wise.  We are so excited to get outside, take walks, eat on patios, and hopefully get some rain, we are technically entering the rainy season soon.

If you are the praying type PLEASE pray for all the families effected by the 60 fires burning in central Texas as I type this!  We don’t know anyone yet that is affected, but we do know people who had to evacuate due to their neighborhood being on fire.  We desperately need a good hard rain!

One Response to “Surviving the hottest “winter””

  1. Ellen said

    I totally relate!

Leave a Reply

