The Dirty and Not So Dirty Dozen

August 19, 2011

As some of you know Andrew and I are trying to be more chemically free.  Pesticide and Hormone free foods are extremely easy to come by in Austin and are only slightly more expensive.  To be honest it’s hard to find non-natural poultry in our meat departments.  It started with me giving up of diet coke which has gone extremely well and now it’s seeping into other parts of our life.  I bought Almond Milk this week and surprisingly I really like it, we might be making the switch to this instead of cows milk considering dairy has never been super friendly to us anyway. My grocery budget will not allow for me to buy all organic so when I’ve talked to my organic friends and asked them where to begin they have directed me to the dirty dozen list.  I have found this helpful and I’ve had a few people ask me to share what the list contains.  Here is where I found this particular list.

12 Most Contaminated

  • Peaches
  • Apples
  • Sweet Bell Peppers
  • Celery
  • Nectarines
  • Strawberries
  • Cherries
  • Pears
  • Grapes (Imported)
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Potatoes

12 Least Contaminated

  • Onions
  • Avocado
  • Sweet Corn (Frozen)
  • Pineapples
  • Mango
  • Asparagus
  • Sweet Peas (Frozen)
  • Kiwi Fruit
  • Bananas
  • Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Papaya
We will probably never go totally organic, but I think the less chemicals we put in our body the better.  You know I’m never going to completely give up Bluebell Ice Cream!
Leave a Reply

