Meltdown in Aisle 2

May 7, 2010

This week I have been newly energized to plan meals and either cook or tell Andrew what he can make each night.  We have been in a rut of eating Bertolli or Digiorno and as much as we like that, it’s getting boring and it’s not really good for you to only eat frozen pre-made meals.  I took a couple hours this week and sat down with some cooking magazines and came up with this menu and this grocery list:

Saturday: Breakfast- Monkey Bread

Lunch- Sausage and Tomato Rigatoni (F&F Spring 2006)

Dinner- On our own

Sunday: Breakfast- At church

Lunch- Sandwich Bar

Dinner- Parents?

Monday: TGIM/Sermon…Andrew on his own

Tuesday: Skirt Steak Tacos with spicy sour cream (Fine Cooking)

Wednesday: Bruschetta Chicken Bake, Easy Scalloped Potatoes, Green Beans (F&F Fall 2006 p.48 and p.52)  Spinach Artichoke Dip for SG

Thursday: “Chinese Takeout” Lemon Chicken (F&F Fall 2007 pg. 5)

Friday:  Taco Dip and Pizza dip (F&F Holiday 2006 pg. 20) for the appetizer (out for dinner)

Grocery List:

Random Aisles

8oz Rigatoni Pasta (Whole Wheat)

¼ cup Sun-Dried tomato Vinaigrette Dressing

Whole Wheat Tortillas

1 16oz pkg Stove Top Stuffing Mix for Chicken

Chicken broth

1 box lemon jello

1pkg (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach

Light Mayo

Tortilla Chips 2 bags, 1 multigrain, 1 other

Salsa

1pkg buttermilk buscuits

Meat:

1lb sausage, cut into chunks

1 lb boneless/skinless chicken

11/2 lbs boneless chicken breasts

1lb skirt steak

Canned Goods:

¼ cup tomato paste

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cans green beans

1 can (14oz) artichoke hearts

1 can pizza sauce

Seasoning:

Minced Garlic

Dried basil

Garlic powder

Taco seasoning

Chipotle Chili Kosher Salt

Produce:

1 large red onion

Lettuce shreds

4 tomatoes

1 med. Avocado

¼ cup chopped fresh parsley

1 pkg snow peas

3 lbs red potatoes

1 red Pepper

Bananas

Grapes

Strawberries

Apples

Dairy:

Taco shredded cheese

Shredded Mozzarella (for multiple recipes)

Large Sour Cream

Parmesan cheese (for 2 receipes)

Shredded Cheddar cheese

2 pkg 8 oz cream cheese

1Gal Milk

Butter

Eggs

” Alright I can do this shopping trip”, I thought.  I arrived at the store with thorough list in hand and got right to it, well kinda, I didn’t really know where to start so I just kinda of went down the middle (bad plan).  I jumped to meat, then produce then back down the middle.  Then I went to dairy and realized I was missing canned artichoke hearts, frozen spinach,  and pizza sauce.  I was in aisle 2 when I broke down and called my mom.  She wasn’t familiar with this particular store so she gave me her best guess and I tried it out… no luck.  I had been at the store almost 2 hours when I finally decided it was time to leave, I had had enough and I wanted to avoid a complete meltdown in aisle 2.  The bummer of it all is I try so hard to be nice to people in the check out and I was so frustrated that I didn’t smile, I didn’t ask people how they were doing and then I barked at them that I couldn’t find certain items and that they couldn’t find them either.  Did I mention I was starving?!?!

Bottomline:  This whole meal planning/grocery shopping thing is going to be MUCH harder than I ever expected

Where is the manual for this thing?

One Response to “Meltdown in Aisle 2”

  1. Jill said

    Oh, Laura! I’m sorry you had such a hard time 😦 It gets easier, I swear! Here’s my process, which works fairly well:
    First, I made a blank grocery list on the computer categorized in the order that the store is in. I shop at Meijer, so I start in the first aisle (wine/beer) and work my way down the aisles to the back of the store. By then I’ve hit all the canned/boxed foods I need, so then I can get the cold stuff without it sitting in my cart forever. So then I do dairy, work my way through the meats, get my produce, and then if there’s something frozen I need I grab that right before I check out. Having my blank grocery list in order already printed makes it easier–I just fill in the blanks under the aisles that I know I need to go through.

    As far as the actual meal planning, I usually try to see what meals I can make out of whatever I have left in my kitchen, and then come up with new ones. I never “plan” lunches–I always make dinners that have 4-6 servings so that we have some left for lunch the next day. That’s easy, and saves money! Like if we’re having salmon for dinner, I make enough to put on salad the next day. I usually leave one night at the end of the week for leftovers or “scrounging,” to eat whatever’s left.

    anyway, that’s a long comment, sorry 🙂 I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

