Better Spouse

January 6, 2010

If your resolution is to be a better spouse this year I think I might have a tool for you to use.  Andrew and I started doing this in the Fall of 2009 and it has really made a difference in our marriage.  It only takes about 10 minutes a day and the effects are huge.  It’s called your daily three.  Each day you do the following 3 things:

1. Tell your spouse how you are feeling that day.  I don’t allow OK or FINE as a feeling because that doesn’t really tell me anything.

2. Tell your spouse one thing you appreciate about them for that day.  You will find that some of your appreciations might have the same theme, but always point out something specific for that day.

3. Pray with each other.  Andrew and I have prayed with each other everyday since our wedding day (with the exception of maybe 5 days when we weren’t together) and it has been awesome.  We do need to get better about actually praying FOR each other which is really how this is supposed to work.

If you are intentional about this and both of you desire to make your marriage better it will work.  The results are amazing when you are dedicated to making God the center of your marriage and always taking time for each other.  There really is no excuse not to do this….if you don’t have 10 minutes a day for your spouse you have much bigger issues that you need to deal with.  I’m not saying you have to do this to have a great marriage, but if you’re looking for something to bring you closer to your spouse in 2010 I would suggest trying this.  I didn’t make this up, but I learned it from a wise marriage counselor and I totally endorse it.

Leave a Reply

