Ode to Laura

October 3, 2009

Today marks a momentous occasion…the 24th anniversary of Laura’s birth. It was a cold October afternoon at Proctor Hospital in Peoria, Illinois, when Laura entered the world. Her family had no idea what they were in for. Years of joy, years of laughter, and several “outbursts” I can’t fully describe in words. There are so many things I have to rely on family, friends, and home movies to understand, but for the past two years I have been learning about this remarkable woman who is now my wife. I know a little bit. Laura loves chocolate, autumn, the color orange (although yellow and grey are a popular fad now), and words of affirmation. She also loves encouraging people and telling them how much she loves them. Laura has a gift for teaching people, not just children. She is passionate about building a life focused on God and his plans, not just what makes us happy. These are a few of the reasons why I love her, and why I chose to spend the rest of my life with her. I can’t really say that Laura changed my life: she is changing it day by day. Well, more accurately I think, we are creating a new life together that is radically different than anything we would have done alone. Happy birthday sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

