Stop and Smell the Roses

September 5, 2009

Thursday I got up at 5:00 AM, that’s right people, I was up before the sun, and if you know anything about me you know that this is SO NOT ME!!  At 6:10 I hopped in my brother’s car and we were off for a 16 hour ride to get him back home to Texas.  The mood in the car was positive for the first 4 hours or so and then we were tired of being in the car and just tired in general.  Needless to say it was a less than fun adventure.  At one point our GPS screwed up and would ONLY take us on country roads.  We drove through one of the most beautiful parts of Texas I have ever seen.  The entire time I tried to take it in and enjoy the beauty even though it was taking us a little bit out of the way.  During that time my brother tried to figure out a way to get back on the highway.  I know he was tired and rightfully so since he had to drive the entire way…I never did quite master the 5 speed, but I wish he would have been able to enjoy the scenic route we had never taken before.

The next day my other brother and I went downtown and on our way home he asked, “Do you want to take the scenic route or the faster one?”  I said I really didn’t care and he chose the faster one.  This got me thinking… as I sometimes do.  When did we become so fast paced and stop desiring to take in the beauty of the World?  Sometimes are we so fixated on the destination that we can’t enjoy the ride?  This applies to many things in life.  Our future for example, Andrew and I have been anxiously awaiting him to finish his PhD and then get a career, but then what?  We’ll wait for him to get a better job, and then we’ll anxiously awaiting having kids, and then we’ll wish our whole lives away.  As cliche as the title is I think it is important to take in life, enjoy it, love where you are RIGHT NOW, look forward to the future, but at the same time realize you WILL MISS things about where you are currently.  So, Stop and Smell the Roses, whatever that may mean for you today.

Leave a Reply

