Pressed but not Crushed

March 3, 2009

I am in quite the mood today. I wake up each morning with dread for the day which is precisely the opossite feeling I should have. I decided I should pick up my morning devotion book and read the one for March 3rd before getting out of bed. Would you believe that is spoke to my situation today? It was about how your morning should be wonderful because its a new opportunity to listen to God. I NEVER look at mornings this way. I’m not exactly a morning person and I am pretty sure I never will be. The song “Trading my Sorrows” sums up my feeling for today,” I am pressed, but not crushed. Persecuted not abandoned. Struck down, but not destroyed.” So here I go, I press on towards the goal, luckily I have the Savior of the World holding me up!

2 Responses to “Pressed but not Crushed”

  1. Gabe said

    I do my devotions and daily prayer time in the evening because I can’t seem to focus first thing in the morning. That said, since I’ve been here in Guatemala, I’ve been setting my alarm for a half-hour earlier than I need to get up and use that time to snooze and pray. The last thing I always ask for, right before getting out of bed, is that I could start my day completely filled with the Holy Spirit.

    This doesn’t mean that everyday is lovely, but it’s been really cool. I don’t have a lot of money right now and so the other night I asked God to give me more of his Spirit to give away. I didn’t know what that would look like, but thought I’d give it a try. I love giving things away and blessing people, but right now the only thing I have to give away is my faith.

    Anyway, yesterday, my AM teacher began asking me out Vineyard’s mission methodology and I was able to spend nearly an hour talking to her about how much God loves us and how we (as a church) feel it’s important to love on people through relationship and the meeting of physical needs–no strings attached–prior to addressing their spiritual condition. While the latter is important, we want to bring people into a relationship with Christ through relationship and not through condemnation. It was cool as I could tell that she held a general opposition to “missionaries” and through our chat was able to see and hopefully experience the love of Jesus.

    Earlier today, the school janitor came up to me right before I went to use the restroom and asked me if I spook english. Of course, the answer was yes, but then she asked me if I’d be willing to translate something from Spanish into English for her. I don’t know what it is, but she said it was some “evangelical” document. I agreed and will be getting the document tomorrow. Moments later, in the bathroom, I felt the Spirit tell me that this was something He was doing and that I was getting an opportunity to participate in the breaking in of the Kingdom.

    Okay, that was a lot, but I say all of that to say…

    **Deliberately ask for a filling of the Holy Spirit every morning right before you get out of bed. Then watch for opportunities throughout the day to give Him away.

  2. Gabe said

    by the way, I would like to know why my blog has not made your blogroll.

Leave a Reply

